Cycling a tank, adding fish and corals

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Jmck, May 13, 2010.

  1. Jmck

    Mike_630l

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Not sure if you replying to my thread....?

    I have 72kg of live rock in my 630l tank.
     
    Mike_630l, Feb 23, 2012
    #61
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jmck

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    I am. What about the other questions I asked?
     
    ErinCahir, Feb 23, 2012
    #62
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jmck

    Mike_630l

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I am not sure on the method names. I am running the tank without any stock, after 2 weeks, if the levels are positive, I will introduce about 5 inverts.
    The live rock was possibly out of water for under an hour during transport.
     
    Mike_630l, Feb 23, 2012
    #63
  4. Jmck

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    You should drop in a table shrimp to make certain you have cycled. It is entirely plausible that you skipped one with the rock not being out of the water for very long, but it never hurts to make sure.
     
    ErinCahir, Feb 23, 2012
    #64
  5. Jmck

    ReefNOOB21

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    While cycling.. is the filter running the whole time?
     
    ReefNOOB21, Apr 27, 2012
    #65
  6. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You should run the filter while cycling.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 27, 2012
    #66
  7. Jmck

    ReefNOOB21

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    when placing my rocks.. can i place hte rocks on top of hte sand or does it have to be burried?
     
    ReefNOOB21, Apr 28, 2012
    #67
  8. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    The rocks should not be placed on top of the sand. They should be sitting on the glass. There are lots of animals that burrow in the sand -- fish, snails, starfish, etc. If the rocks are sitting on top of the sand, these animals can dig in the sand, cause the rocks to become unstable, and cause a rockslide. This could even break your glass. Also, powerheads will move the sand around the tank.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 28, 2012
    #68
  9. Jmck

    OceanCrazy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Owings Mills, MD USA
    Hey Biff, i am upgrading to a 75 but i dont want my lr to die. How should i place my lr on the glass without killing it off?. Should i just have 20% of water in the tank before i place the sand?
     
    OceanCrazy, Apr 29, 2012
    #69
  10. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Live rock will be fine out of water for a short period of time. You can add a bit of water to the tank to start, then add the rocks, then the sand though too.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 29, 2012
    #70
    OceanCrazy likes this.
  11. Jmck

    OceanCrazy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Owings Mills, MD USA
    Will do just that, ty.
     
    OceanCrazy, Apr 29, 2012
    #71
  12. Jmck

    dixiegirl21191 Reef Junkie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    How much live rock should I have to get the cycle going good in my 10 gallon? I have around 6lbs of dry rock now. I have not started my cycle yet, I'm still getting all the stuff for my tank set up. I will probably have everything I need to finally start cycling next month. Gosh it's so expensive but I'm still so excited!
     
    dixiegirl21191, May 6, 2012
    #72
  13. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You want 1 to 2 lbs of rock per gallon total, and that can be a mix of live and dry rock. The more live rock you use, the shorter length of time it will take to seed the rest of the dry rock. So I would put in at least 4 lbs of live rock, just to bump it up to 1 lb per gallon. You can always add more later on if funds are short and you want to buy rock gradually instead of all at once.
     
    Bifferwine, May 6, 2012
    #73
    dixiegirl21191 likes this.
  14. Jmck

    Jimbo662

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I put my live rock in on Saturday, dropped a piece of shrimp in on Sunday. Got home from work today and the entire house stunk like dead fish. Is this normal? I don't remember any of my freshwater tanks smelling so bad when cycling.
     
    Jimbo662, May 15, 2012
    #74
  15. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    It's not common, but it has happened. Especially if your live rock was really "fresh". What are your water parameters testing at?
     
    Bifferwine, May 15, 2012
    #75
  16. Jmck

    Jimbo662

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    ammonia .5
    nitrite .5
    nitrate 1
    I couldn't stand it and removed the shrimp last night. when I got home today the water was almost back to smelling normal.
     
    Jimbo662, May 16, 2012
    #76
  17. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Good deal. Your cycle has started, so it's fine to take the shrimp out. Cycling can be stinky. :lol:
     
    Bifferwine, May 16, 2012
    #77
  18. Jmck

    reefer82

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    new york ny
    Quick question for everyone. I have been cycling my tank for 3 weeks now and all of a sudden I have brown algae all over my rocks and sand alot of people have been telling me that its just part of the cycling process but I didn't think so much algae would grow in a matter of days.

    I'm currently cycling the tank with half the amount of rock I need. I have 15 pound of live rock but I really need about 30 to 40 pounds. Is it possible their is not enough bacteria to consume nutrients becvuase I don't have enough rock.

    I also do not have any macro algae/live rubble in the refugium or protein skimmer but I was told that I don't need to have it during the cycling process.
     
    reefer82, May 26, 2012
    #78
  19. Jmck

    ReefNOOB21

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    You're fine. Just all part of the process.
     
    ReefNOOB21, May 26, 2012
    #79
  20. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    The brown algae is probably diatoms, which is completely normal. Diatoms feed off of silicates, which come in the sand or water. You can make them go away faster by using RODI (not tap) water. Otherwise you just have to wait them out, unfortunately. It's okay to not have enough rock in the beginning. Lots of people add the rock they need over time to spread out their budget.
     
    Bifferwine, May 26, 2012
    #80
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.