Dear Saltwater King

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Bifferwine, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Bifferwine

Bifferwine I am a girl

Hi,
    You set off a bunch of red flags for me. Allow me to elaborate:

1) You say you are a marine biologist. I am actually a real biologist. You do not talk like a biologist. You do not spell like a biologist. When I asked you who you worked/work for, you said, "Myself." Most biologists do not work for themselves.

2) You say that you live in Hawaii. But you spelled "Honolulu" wrong in your profile.

3) You originally posted that you have a 29 gallon and a 55 gallon tank in your profile; yet you told everyone in chat that you had a 500 gallon tank and a 1,100 gallon tank. When I pointed it out and said, "Why does your profile say a 29 and a 55?", you logged out of chat -- and then changed your profile to say you have a 500 gallon tank and a 1,100 gallon tank.

4) The picture of your tanks.

[​IMG]

If this is in your home, why is there a fire extinguisher sign behind your tank? I have a fire extinguisher in my house, but I don't have a giant red sign up on the wall to remind me that it's there.

[​IMG]

This is a tank filled with fake corals and no fish. Really? That's your reef tank? That looks like the kind of tank you'd see at a hotel or a Rainforest Cafe.

5) You give bad advice. A lot of what you have posted on here is just wrong. You have the order of the nitrogen cycle wrong. You are a marine biologist and you don't know how the nitrogen cycle works? You told everyone in chat you keep a reef tank under 1 watt per gallon of PC lighting... Hmmmm... Sounds about right! :lol:

6) What kind of 50/60 year old retired biologist has the email address "skater1andahalf"? Hey, guess what. I'm a mod. I can look up your email address.

7) Please refer to #2: You say you live in Hawaii. Why does your IP address originate in Denver? Hey, guess what. I'm a mod. I can look up your IP address too.