dinos are back so going to try Kalkwasser..Need help

SalteeDogg

Reefing newb
Ok this time around I am going to try the kalkwasser drip method to see if it helps any. I have never used kalkwasser before but have an ideal on how its mixed and dripped into the system. When should I drip and how long at a time should I drip kalkwasser? Any help would be appreciated

Don't ask me. I managed to crash both of my tanks simultaneously while dripping kalk. Be very careful when trying to get your pH up that high!

This might help you a little and is the method I used to erradicate them from my tank: https://www.livingreefs.com/kalwasser-and-dose-t538.html

this is the part that I used the most:

try mixing and adding your Kalkwasser like this: pour 15ml of 5% Acetic Acid (or ordinary Distilled White Vinegar from the grocery store -- same thing) into a 1 liter (1 quart) container. Dissolve 1/2 teaspoon of lab-grade Ca(OH)2 (or commercial Kalkwasser mix) in the Acetic Acid, and then dilute to 1 liter (1 quart) volume with either RO/DI water, or even tank water.

15 ml is more Vinegar than some people are comfortable with, but I use it constantly with no problems. There should be no sediment in the mixture, or just a little bit at most. You can let the sediment settle out if you don't like the white flakes in your tank. I just drip the liquid and the sediment both into my tank.

Last edited:
I saw your other thread where they were saying to shut out your light for a week and skim heavily. Did you also run carbon by chance? Do any major water changes?

I had dinos taking over my tank shortly after I set it up and basically I just sucked out as much manually as possible, cut out the light for a week and covered it from all sunlight with some garbage bags, ran my skimmer (obviously), tossed a big bag of carbon in the sump, and did about 25% water changes every other day. Took off the bags and turned my lights back on and they never came back.