DIY fuge

lilreefgirl

Reefing newb
Hi everyone!
I want to start off by saying that I am VERY new to this hobby.
I have a 60 gallon tank that I am VERY SLOWLY setting up. I am going the DIY route as much as possible to save money on set up costs.

I have a 20 gallon sump planned - please let me know any comments on what I have drawn up. I also have questions about if/how to do certain things. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

My plan is to have a Mag 9.5 as my return pump. I am not getting a skimmer right away, as I dont plan to have any livestock for a while. I am planning on lights and skimmer purchased much later. However, I have planned the compartment for a Reef Octopus Extreme 160 as recommended by another forum member. If I end up with something smaller, then at least I have the room, as the 160 has a fair size footprint.

Please let me know what you think!
Cheers! :Cheers:

Attachments

• sump plan.doc
    57 KB · Views: 579
Alright since you are using my layout ie same return pump and same skimmer I drew up a rough (I mean Rough) picture of what I did. Any questions feel free to ask

SUMP LAYOUT.jpg

I used egg crate instead of a larger baffle for the return chamber to avoid bubbles. Egg crate keeps the Macro Algea from my fuge out but allows water flow. Also it allows more water for pump to draw from so less chance of it running dry.

Okay, so why is the baffle next to the pump only 6" high?
I thought it should be fairly high to allow plenty of water around the pump? Is that not right?

I have also seen 3 baffles between skimmer/fuge - is this overkill?

Is there something I can read up on to research why the baffles are placed where they are? Or can you/someone tell me? (am I making this more difficult than it has to be?)

Should I extend the skimmer area to 11 inches (i have it set at 10 in the drawing) I dont know for sure which skimmer I will be using, but this seemed like a fairly large footprint & that skimmer was recommeded.