DIY Skimmer

bjohanson1234

OK I know that it is generally better to buy a skimmer than to make one. But I am a tinkerer by heart and have been thinking of making a DIY recirculating skimmer.

It is going to be based off of this one that I have found online
Compact Super Skimmer

Here is a drawing of what I am thinking
skimmer1.jpg

Sorry about the quality but I am not good at drawing in paint so I just scetched it on some paper.

It is being built out of 4 inch PVC that I picked up off a job site. It is about 1 foot tall.

The lines for the recirculating pump (mab 5) are going to be 1/2 since that is the size of the fittings on the pump. Same for the water output.

The input is going to be a smaller pump that will attach with a barbed fitting.

There are a few questions I have. How high should the venturi output be in the water column?
I was thinking higher up so that it wouldnt have too much back preasure. Less back preasure means a higher velocity. That would mean that the venturi could pull in more air. :dunno: But the reverse is also true. The lower it is, the more contact time it will have.

Also, what should the flow rate through the skimmer be? The mag 5 has a 500 GPH at 0 head peassure. I know it will be less because of the venturi. Should the smaller pump be pumping WHAT fraction of this?

Well anyways, I am going to go and search for some answeres but if any of you have any input, it owuld be much appreciated.

Also, any ideas on making the collection cup.

I am thinking of just getting a 4"pvc cap and cutting a hole in it and glueing some pipe into it.

i may have a good collection cup idea, but i will need to take pics of something at the house to explain what i'm thinking, so if i remember, i'll do that tonight, i think you'll like it... its easy...