Do I want an aquarium?

Matute

Reefing newb
I am not really an Aquarist but I do enjoy seeing other peoples' fishes at their places. The main reason for me not having fish is that it seems all too complicated: water skimmers, pumps, oxigenizers, water temperature... in terms of simplicity a cat would be ideal, only that a cat doesn't provide the soothing relaxation an aquarium does. So I guess I'm here to let you convince me to take the frist step and get an aquarium of my own instead of anoying friends and relatives by sitting in their living rooms all day and emptying their refrigerators!

Now to the specifics: from my research I've found out that most recommend to start with a small 12gln tank with a live rock [whatever a "live rock" is =>newbie here!] versus a 30gln minimum for FW tank to start: why the difference?. I am inclined to go for a FW tank, but I have been told that SW tanks and reefs are more fun in the long run and makes for a more enthusiast aquarist, so I guess I'm asking you to convince me :)

I know that SW is more expensive and time consuming and i am probably willing to make the investment, I just don't want to end up with a lot of dead fish...

I found a picture of the kind of tank I envision having one day at this site:

fishpetlove.com => see the tubular aquarium, is that a reef in the center?

Any idea of other sites where I can start looking for equipment and prices online?

Any help is appreciated!

Welcome to the forums!