Dual drains for 90Gal

Nuube

Reefing newb
I'm new to the hobby and am setting up a 90G DT with a 55G sump in the basement below. The DT was "Reef Ready" for two bulkheads in the bottom of the overflow chamber. One 1" and one 3/4". I'm using both for drains to the sump. The 3/4" is running to a bulkhead in the sidewall of the sump feeding the "fuge" section. The 1" is running to the skimmer section and entering from above (no bulkhead). Both lines are valved. I'm using the "Durso Design" stand pipes in the overflow chamber. The 1" bulkhead has a 1 1/4" thin wall pipe and the 3/4" bulkhead has a 1" thin wall pipe. I've finished the plumbing and have filled the system with fresh water for "testing'. The good thing is I have no leaks. The troubling thing is I'm dragging a lot of air from the overflow chamber to the sump through both drain lines. I have experimented with different stand pipe air vents and heights, etc with no success. I have run the system and calculated that I'm getting 625 GPH of water back to the display tank with both drain valves open. That flow seems to be on the low side of what is reccomended (from what I read???) Here is what I think I see happening and need your advice on. When the system pump is pumping full bore back to the DT and I'm getting the 625 GPH the overflow chamber baffle can't handle that flow rate through the oval shaped holes. (There are two rows of holes, one near the top and one near the bottom). There is some water breaching the top of the overflow baffle as well. Even though there is some addidtional water flowing over the baffle top the standpipes are still starving for water and therefore "dragging" air to the sump. If my contention is correct then it seems I would have but two options.The first would be to add more holes in the factory overflow baffle or to valve back everything, drains and return. If I valve back I don't believe I'll get the recommened flow through the system. What am I missing? I can post photos if need