Dwarf Angelfish trouble - everyone has died!

robin623

Reefing newb
html.jpg
I am new to saltwater aquariums and this forum (My display tank has only been running about 4 months.) I have done my homework in terms of water chemistry etc. I use only deionized water adjusted to 1.022-1.023. I currently have 2 Tomato Clownfish, 1 Valentini Toby, a Bluehead Wrasse and 2 Peppermint shrimp and they are all doing well. But I have trouble keeping Dwarf Angelfish alive. My first one (Coral Beauty from LFS) lasted 3 weeks, my second one (also Coral Beauty from an online supplier) lasted 3 days. The last one (Flame Angel from a different online supplier) died today during the last 15 minutes of the acclimation process. In other words he did not even make it to the quarantine tank! I am determined to have a Flame Angelfish in my 90 Gallon FOWLR tank but I am clueless about what is going wrong. Maybe I am not applying some step in the introduction process that is crucial to Dwarf Angelfish or just have bad luck and circumstances beyond my control have caused the deaths. Please help!
index.jpg

I am so sorry to hear of your troubles Robin. I am glad to hear that your other livestock are doing well though. I added a flame angel a while ago and he died within 48 hours of being in my tnak and he took quite a few fish with him. I never determined if he had a disease or what. They special ordered him in for me so he was only at the LFS for half a day and part of me thought it was shipping stress. My next go round I made sure to keep an eye on an existing flame angel at my LFS, after he was there a month I figured, well, he survived here, surely he will survive in my tank. I've had him for months now. I can only advise, try to get your next dwarf angel after he has been at the shop for a while.
I personally won't order fish or buy a fish that has just come in, I think a lot of them can't deal with the shipping.
Just my opinion.