Dwarf seahorse help

Zelika

Reefing newb
After thinking about it for years I've finally decided I'm going to go for it and get dwarf seahorses. I will say that I have limited saltwater experience, but I have had freshwater tanks my whole life and I've put a lot of thought and research into this. Unfortunately there is not a lot of resources available dedicated to dwarves. I've figured out enough to know that they have different needs than regular seahorses. Every website I look at specific to dwarves totally contradict each other! Based on the books and websites I've read and the people I've pieced together a plan I want to run by you guys. My LFS told me there's a lady on this forum that is the all knowing goddess of dwarfs, which is why I came here!

So here's my rough plan. I want to use my 10 gallon tank. It's a little larger than I'd like, and i know smaller tanks are harder to keep in check, but i already have the tank, and I've been told if I put lots of plants in there it should be fine. I want to put lots of plants in there for filtration/oxygen supply reasons as well. I can't figure out what kind of plant I want, although I've been told macro algae is the way to go. I've also found out that certain types will take over your whole tank, and some will go sexual and kill your whole tank. I want to give the horses something they can grab and hide in, but not something they can hide too well in. I'm thinking maybe eel/turtle grass? I want a mushroom coral as well too. I'd like to have my tank set up so that it is pretty well self filtering. I want to use a HOB filter, I've been told that this will be sufficient filtration as well as creating a slight current. I would of course have a cover of some sort on the filter intake. I don't want to mess around with a sump, but I'm open to suggestions.