Evil Coral Banded Shrimp??

smmagui

Reefing newb
As I am fairly new to the hobby you may find this to be a stupid question. I have a 20 gallon tank that i was learning with before I moved my tire track eel into a new tank and used the 55 for sw. I bought a "Cleaner Crew" from livetropicals.com great site but did not mention they would be sending a possessed coral banded shrimp.. Anyhow, my question is after seeing Kane as I call him devouring 23 total hermit crabs, and a serpent star (I think the blennie helped on that one) should I a)move him into the new tank when I add the cleaning crew to it in a few weeks> and 2)if they are normally safe and peaceful should I order another with my second crew or avoid them althogther? Thanks for all your help, and I love the site. Great work on it and great advice.

Shawn

The banded coral shrimp will sometimes make it hard to keep corals as they clean them they can damage the coral and then feed of the coral as it leaks. I would not put one in any tank of mine but that is just my opinion.

squibley2 said:
The banded coral shrimp will sometimes make it hard to keep corals as they clean them they can damage the coral and then feed of the coral as it leaks. I would not put one in any tank of mine but that is just my opinion.
For the time being as I still dont know where Im living from year to year(wife and I are far from settled in careers) its going to be a fowlr tank...I was hoping to here your response as Im not a fan of them, butit was new at the time...Thanks alot for responding.

Stenopus hispidus - Banded coral shrimp

* Apprx. to 4" long
* Tropical seas
* Min. aquarium size: moderate tanks 50 gal or larger.
*lighting not an issue
* Scavenger. Most meaty foods are fine.
* Agressive, may attack other shrimps and crustaceans. Preys on snails and worms.