FAQ about clown hosting anemones

salt_for_brains

Alabama Reefer
I am not an expert nor do I pretend to be one on clown hosting anemones. What I do have is years of research and experience keeping various species of these inverts. I have read a lot of questions on forums including this forum about anemones and I wanted to try and provide a resource for someone to get a lot of their questions answered in one place without having to search different threads.

Which anemone is easiest to keep? All hosting anemones range from difficult, to more difficult, to most difficult to keep. There are easier species like the E. quadricolor (bubble tip anemone) but they are still difficult. So don’t let the term “Easier” fool you.

Why do anemones need a mature tank? Mature tanks bring stability. Stability in water parameters is a must to creating a healthy environment for anemones. Remember, anemones are made up of mostly water so rapid swings in PH, temperature and salinity have deadly impacts for anemones. Mature tanks usually means more experienced aquarists which know “slow is good” in this hobby.

What are the lighting requirements for anemones? In my opinion, clown hosting anemones are one of the most light demanding creatures we can put in our tanks. A lot of factors dictate what light will be good for your anemone and your tank. The depth of the tank, where the anemone will dwell (sand, middle of rocks on top of the rocks) and the species need to be considered before purchasing one. LED’s, T5’s or metal halides would be the least I would use trying to house an anemone. Yes, I know some people have bubble tip anemones under power compacts and they are doing well. My thing is give yourself and the anemone every opportunity to be successful in your aquarium by providing it with plenty of light. Yes you can also have too much light to begin with but if you light acclimate it properly and give it time the anemone will adjust.