(Feedback Needed) My plan for a natural low-tech nano reef.

MikeMartin

Reefing newb

Hello Everyone!

My name’s Mike and I’m new to this forum and reefing. I've been keeping a freshwater planted tank for ~6 years and have finally decided to switch over to the sea.

I've spent about 3 month scouring the internet for reefing tips, reading about the different types of setups, and visiting local aquarium shops. Below is my plan of action to start up my first saltwater tank, any feedback or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

The Plan

To build a natural low-tech nano reef on a budget. Lots of corals and small fish bio-load.

My low-tech approach consists of using only live rock, live sand, plenty of water turnover, plus macro-algae and an air pump with diffuser in-tank. Picture of plan diagram attached. I've decided against a sump, overflow, protein skimmer, and any other reef gadgets.

I want to cut a clear piece of acrylic to cover the top to decrease evaporation, there will be a couple holes to let out extra air from the air pump. Weekly 10% water changes/top-off, macro-algae pruning, and sand bed cleaning.

The Big Questions

1. Macro-algae in-tank as a nutrients exporter? Do you think a large amount of macro-algae planted at the back of the tank can keep nitrates low when pruned weekly with 10% water changes?

2. Air pump + diffuser by plant bed? Do you think this will help regulate the amount of co2 in the tank even at night when the plants are expelling co2?

3. Control macro algae spread? Maybe a clear piece of acrylic to separate the sand bed between the plants and rest of tank? I want them to grow up to be pruned, not out and all around the tank.

4. Semi-sealing the top of the tank? Do you think a piece of clear acrylic over the top of the tank will dramatically minimize evaporation rates? There would be a couple holes drilled to let out air from the air pump.
Equipment

Tank: Mr. Aqua Luminous 17.1 Gallon Frameless Glass Aquarium (Link)