filter upgrade

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by bazza1979, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. bazza1979

    bazza1979 bazz

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    durham uk
    hi on my tank i have x2 canister filters and have the chance of a hagen fluval fx5 canister filter any 1 own 1 of have had experiences with 1 if so any feedback would be great !!!
     
    bazza1979, Feb 9, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bazza1979

    kbuser92 Breeder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Canisters are for freshwater. You should switch to a sump/fuge or just use powerheads and a HOB skimmer.
     
    kbuser92, Feb 9, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bazza1979

    Zissou What about my dynamite? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Alaska
    A HOB skimmer or in-tank (hydor slim skim) skimmer is probably your best bet, if you're not setup with a sump.

    In regards to canister filters, they're 'ok' in fish only tanks, but not recommended for any tanks with corals; unlike planted freshwater tanks, there's really nothing in a reef tank to take up the extra nitrates being put out by a canister. A skimmer is much better because it pulls the waste out of your system before it get breaks down.

    Better yet, look into making an algae scrubber:
    https://www.livingreefs.com/build-algae-scrubber-t32422.html
     
    Zissou, Feb 9, 2012
    #3
  4. bazza1979

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    +1 Zissou
     
    little_fish, Feb 9, 2012
    #4
  5. bazza1979

    bazza1979 bazz

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    durham uk
    i currently run a deltec skimmer and have a few powerheads running i would love to have a sump running but just dont have the room or the cash !!
     
    bazza1979, Feb 9, 2012
    #5
  6. bazza1979

    Northstar24 The Tang Herder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    With powerheads and a skimmer, you don't really need a canister filter
     
    Northstar24, Feb 9, 2012
    #6
  7. bazza1979

    kevdogg

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    I'm currently running 2 FX5 canisters but only as temporary powerheads to increase the flow. I had no issues with them working but as the others have said canisters are not the way to filter SW.
     
    kevdogg, Feb 9, 2012
    #7
  8. bazza1979

    stormystormy11 Reef Addicted!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I have the Fluval 405 and it works okay. The only problem is I get a burst every now and then of sand on the outtake tube. I've been dealing with this for a long time and the Fluval company said I was the first to have this problem..lol. Can't find where it's gathering in the canister and can't stop it. I do like the chambers for different media. I stick chemi pure and purigen bags in there also. It is a pain to clean but I don't have the room under my tank for a sump. I'm running a cheap Odyssea skimmer and my water has always tested perfect.
     
    stormystormy11, Feb 10, 2012
    #8
  9. bazza1979

    bazza1979 bazz

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    durham uk
    yeah i currently run x2 aqua one external filters with living rock in bottom also phosphate remover bags and purigen bags also with carbon pads to help polish the water i am just thinking of upgrading to a bigger filter to get rid of the 2 i am currently running and water quality has always been good.
     
    bazza1979, Feb 10, 2012
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.