First online fish purchase, first QT setup-assistance please

Max125g

Reefing newb
QT Tank Questions

I just made a purchase on LA and their Diver’s Den and I’m thinking now is a good time to do my first QT tank.

I have never used a QT tank before in both my sw and fw experience (well I used it once with some rams but they didn’t make it) but now that I have a bunch of expensive corals and 8 fish/random inverts I would rather try to prevent introducing any new diseases to the tank.

Just ordered a:
“tiny” blue Caribbean tang (1-2”)
Small Kole Tang (2-2.5”)
Diver’s Den Sargassum/Red Tail Trigger (about 4 ¾ “)

With those 3 fish in mind, I’m guessing I should QT them for a while. How long, I have heard that Trigger’s don’t do well in QT tanks. Now the question remains, what size QT should I use and let me know if my technique below is a good idea or not.

My only spare tank is a 55g which is most likely a bit big for a QT, so I’ll have to go buy one today. Would a 20g work? 10g? do I need to QT or do fish from LA usually arrive in good condition?

QT procedures (as far as I know)
Take about 25% of the QT’s volume in your current tank water
Add 75% new saltwater
No rocks, sand or other items-some PVC cuttings are ok.
What do I do for filtration? Do I buy a HOB? Should I add a few pieces of my rubble from DT’s sump into the QT knowing if I have to medicate they are trash after? I’m guessing a Powerhead or 2 and maybe even an airstone?

Again-I think I have the basic principle of the QT tank but just verifying that I “need” it for this order and if my idea for setting one up is ok, also size recommendations (largest fish is the trigger at nearly 5”)

considering how much swimming room those fishies need, the 55 would probebly be best. Even when tangs are tiny they swim like little mad men.

Sandless and rockless i believe, and you have to keep a close eye on the lvls.