First post and first reef tank.

fasteddie

Reefing newb
Hi everyone,
I am new to the saltwater world and new to this forum. I am in my 3rd week of cycling my new 55g tank and algae seemed to grow over night once I got the right lighting. I was wondering if this is normal that it looks kinda brown to me, and from what I've read, brown is bad. Right? It has little hairs clinging to the base rock which I am assuming is just algae too. If I can get a picture of it I will post it to help determine what color it is.
A quick rundown of the tank......55 gal, biowheel, skimmer, heater, powerhead, about 25 lbs of base rock, live sand, Nova T-5 10000k actinic, 216 watts *I think*, and 6 Damsels....All of my levels are where they should be and in fact, I am in the middle of the nitrate spike right now. I think I am doing everyhthing right so not too worried, but if I am, please point it out. But in the meantime I still wonder, should I have a brownish algae on the base rock at this stage of the game? Thanks in advance for any advice. I will try to post a pic soon.

Eddie

First off,Welcome to the site and the hobby.
You'll most likely come to regret those damsels.They become very aggressive and will bully other fish and have been know to kill corals.Not to mention,you've got WAY to many in a cycling tank.In reality,you shouldnt add anything that alive untill after the cycle is complete.
Go a head and pull that bio-wheel to,since your setting up a reef.The wheel will cause you to have high nitrates.Which is fuel for algae and cyano bacteria.
And the brown algae your seeing is probably diatoms.Which is perfectly normal in a new system.They will go away on the own as the silicates in the water are used up.
Good luck with it and post any questions you have.

BTW
Dont forget to read throgh the helpful articles section.Its full of great info.