First Salt Tank!

Kully3xf

Reefer Madness
Hey guys, new here and just starting my first salt water tank. I've been doing freshwater tanks for many years now and want to diversify my apartment with a little bit of color and flare more than the rest of my fish! Just picked up a 30 gallon tank yesterday and I'm going to be starting my first nano reef. I'm going to be posting pictures of the tank as it comes along, as well as asking for advice and help along the way I'm sure.
What I have so far,
30 gallon tank
Tetra Whisper 40 air pump
Koralia 550 gph current pump
Still it's super empty
Every pay check I'm going to keep adding on, i plan on getting 40 lbs of fiji live rock (i hear that's a good standby)
30 lbs of live sand. probably white with a little pink
a biowheel filter with no carbon for cross current
and as for the light, i'm not certain. anyone have any good ideas? I've been looking around but can't decide. I don't want to spend tons of money, but i want something that works well. Tank is 30" long and 12" wide.
2hnom55.jpg

Also i will not be keeping the tank there, i just had to set it up to look at it :shock:

Welcome to the site. Looks pretty good so far.
I'd try and sell the air pump since you don't need it in salt water.
Also you can't beat a skimmer, so I'd ditch the biowheel as well. It could cause you problems down the road if you aren't religious about cleaning it.

As for lights you've got tons of options. I'd probably go with T5 lighting if you're on a budget. Have fun!

Also if you want to save some more money you could get say 20 lbs of live rock and 20 lbs of dry rock which will become live rock.

Hey thanks goose! I'll just put the pump back on the freshwater tank. No big deal just out $1.50 for airline tubing xD.

Thanks for the tip on rock! There are not to many LFS in my area so good tips like that are greatly appreciated!!