First Saltwater Aquarium

cudamon

Reefing newb
I've decided to switch from a freshwater aquarium to a saltwater aquarium. I have been operating a 125 gallon aquarium for a couple of years now. I've had a great opportunity to buy a 220 gallon aquarium that is currently running and functional. It has "live" sand and rock within it. The current owner had agreed to help me set it up at my house. One of the many questions I have has to do with the curing process for live rock. Do I have to re-clean the rock and go through a curing process for this already established rock? I've read several threads that mention this can be quite a smelly process. I was under the assumption I could just re-setup the aquarium with new saltwater and place the rock in it with no problems. If anyone could correct my thoughts or provide a better understanding of the process I may have to go through to set it up properly would be greatly appreciated.

The rock should be good to go, but I strongly urge that you replace the sand. There's all kind of nasty stuff that has settled in that sand that may cause problems early in your tanks development. The alternative is to spend hours rinsing & re-rinsing that old sand. Other than that, I'd just set it back up. Good Luck!!

Welcome and good luck on the setup. That is a massive tank. Is it a built in the wall or just on a stand?
The tank is currently on a metal stand. I'm going to build a new wooden stand for it this weekend. The dimensions are 72"L x 24"W x 30"H. I figure the setup will take all day.

I dont, but I would be extremely paranoid about the stand collapsing. Just make sure you follow their specification on the wood. It would be horrible to have that all come crashing down

I dont, but I would be extremely paranoid about the stand collapsing. Just make sure you follow their specification on the wood. It would be horrible to have that all come crashing down