Fish disappearing

mattgeorgiaboy

Reefing newb
I am having a problem with my fish disappearing in my tank. Its a 72g bow tank with liverock (the tank is covered so I know they are not jumping out). About 2 weeks ago my royal gramma disappeared without a trace, and today my green cromis has vanished. There are no bodies to be found anywhere. My water paramaters check out ok. I have several small hermits and a electric blue hermit crab the size of a golf ball in his shell. Could the electric blue be the predator? I also spotted a huge bristleworm, I think thats what it is anyway, its not fire red but is a fleshy color with hundreds of leg looking things on its side/back. I saw it leave 1 hole in my LR and enter another over 6 inches away and it took over a minute for the thing to disappear, it has to be over a foot or more long. Is this likely to be the predator? If so how to I get rid of it?

thanks all,

I'm no expert on this by any means but I would think any large crab could grab a fish and eat it. Do you have a sump? If so, move the hermit down to there for a bit and see what happens. I did that with one of mine. he was killing snails so down to the dungeon! You may also have a predator crab in your live rock, it happens. You may want to look around with a red flashlight at night and peer into the rocks. i like to make sure my crabs get fed so I use some sinking discs and drop them right on the cleaner shrimp and the hermits, so I know they eat. Dont forget that the fish sleep in the rocks at night where the crabs live.

Losing chromis is easier than you think. And the RG probably just died as well and both fish were taken care of by the cleaner crew before you realized they have died.

I doubt a hermit was the cause (though its possible). if the fish is healthy and not stressed, a hermit has no chance so thy prob just died and got cleaned up...

Last edited: