Flame Angel

rems

Reefing newb
I am new to saltwater tanks and fish. I have read the book The New Marine Aquarium by Michael S. Paletta to get me started. I would really like a flame angel. I read in the book that you can never introduce a flame angel to a new aquarium. So I would like help on figuring out with fish I should place in my tank initially, that ultimately enables me have a flame angel after my tank is no longer "a new aquarium". I read this "If an angelfish appears timid and hides all the time, some dither fish, like a school of small chromis may be added to make it feel more secure". With this in mind, would have 2 or 3 chromis (possibly black-axil) be a good choice as my starter fish and then eventually put a flame angel with the chromis. I know the chromis are fast-aggresive fish so I am unsure how that would work. HELP!!!!!

Flame angels will generally get along with everything else in the tank. They mind their own business, and they don't normally hide. I don't think you need any schooling fish to be able to see the flame, and in a small tank like a 20 gallon, it can be impossible to create a school anyways. You are limited to 2 or 3 fish total in a tank that size.

So I'd say to pick out which fish you like, make sure they are compatible with the flame, and go from there. :)

Thanks everyone. I would like to put both the clown fish and flame angel together, but are they compatible? If I put 2 clowns in first and then 1 flame angel....would that work?

Live aquaria increased it tank size recommendations a few months back other place say this.
COMMON NAME:
Flame Angel
SCIENTIFIC NAME:
Centropyge loricula SIZE AVAILABLE:
~1.5-2 inches MINIMUM TANK SIZE:
30 gallons FOOD/DIET:
Herbivore CARE LEVEL:
Moderate REEF SAFE:
Semi-aggressive, may nip at corals/clams when hungry AVAILABILITY:
Most always available - 99%

Not sure why Live aquaria increased theirs so much. I would still think a 20 would be pushing it though.