fluval C2/3/4 HOB filter with wet/dry incorperated!!

ob_on3

Reefing newb
I purchased this filter for my 35g hex setup....I got a skimmer so I figured this would help especially since there's no Bio wheel and it also has a wet/dry filter in the little HOB.... but I've never seen anyone with it or heard any good reviews on it.... I'm new at this so I'm wondering what you all think of it....I'd like to hear the feedback from u pros...what u all think? :bounce:

Most people arent big fans of powerfilters. However I like them. For a fowlr system you wont have to worry as much about nitrate issues. So cleaning it wont be as often as with a reef tank. I still think I would give it a good clean every two to three weeks. You dont really need the bio part of the filter. Your bio filtration will be in your live rock. I have a much less fancy powerfilter on my reef tank with all the bio crap taken out. When I want to run carbon I put in a cartridge and change it weekly. When I dont want carbon I just run it empty for flow and a nice ripple across the surface. This and a hob skimmer will work on a fowlr, if you have enough live rock and if you maintain it. You will still need to do water changes every two weeks or so.

Thx Ted...since your the only reply, have u looked at the specific filter I'm talking about? With me having it and a skimmer as well with a good amount of live rock...do u think I can do water changes weekly or biweekly? I don't wanna push it but I figure I'm playing extra safe with all the kinds of filtration.

I was not familiar with that filter (most people do not use HOB filters, especially if they have a skimmer) and it looks so high tech. :lol: I was like, "Oooooh shiny!" It does look like it is more suited for freshwater. But HOB filters and wet/drys are.

I am firmly in the camp that filters such as these are worse for your water quality than not having them at all. Especially since you have a protein skimmer. I'm not sure why you would need one.