For What It's Worth

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhnrb

Reef enthusiast
A SIMPLE MISTAKE THAT CAN WIPE OUT YOUR REEF

By: Andy Morris

I'm relatively new to the reefkeeping hobby, much as many of you are I imagine. I researched for months before I decided on a system. I read books, monitored lists on the internet, talked at length to many of the apparently more knowledgeable folks on those lists. Even though I had successfully kept salt water fish only tanks for a few years, it was quickly apparent that this was a "whole other ballgame."

My approach has been, I think, a very cautious and well thought out one.When I set my system up, most of the water parameters came in-line quickly. The only struggle I experienced was with salinity. I had a heck of a time getting the salinity up to the desired level of 1.024. I didn't really think much of this since I had never worked with one hundred gallons of sea water before. In retrospect, this was the first indicator of something not right, and it blew right by me.

At 6 months, my tank was progressing very well. I had experienced none of the usual nuisance algae or water chemistry problems. I had 8 fish and 15 corals all in excellent health. In fact, I had become the proud papa of a baby Goniopora and a baby Frogspawn! I tested my water parameters often and logged them each time. Everything was textbook perfect....so I thought. I was about to find out differently, and in a big way.

I noticed a few small slime algae patches on a couple of rocks near the bottom. There was also a bit on the substrate in that area. I decided to get some Redox to get rid of them before they became a