Fragging?

amonya

Reefing newb
Im still new to the whole frag seen so is my yellow gorgiana fragging its dropped two branches i dont think its dieing becase the polyps are still extending at night its tissue hasent deteriated(uuuu)Ive read they do sometimes drop branches but they never show what it looks like (in books)anyone suggest a good book on this matter. :regular_wALSO WHEN FRAGGIND GORG THEY SAY TO PULL THE SKIN BACK OVER THE SKELETION AND GLUE BUT I GUESS THIS HAPPENED NATURALLY SO IM EXEMPT RIGHT?

Last edited:
BOOK OF CORAL PROPAGATION by; Anthony Calfo. it is about propagation and much more. very good book i think but may be a little intense for the beginner. anyways will answer many and most questions on propagation, fragin, attachment, and growout.

The pieces that have dropped may just form into new coral. just watch and be patient. That is one form of reporduction, however, make sure something has not caused the break offs . keep us posted. on the progress and pics if possible. You can leave the droped pieces where they are at if they are not in a place where you do not want them, other wise you can place a small piece of flat rock near the mother piece and lay them back down on the new flat rock or glue them to the rock. I would just lay them on the removable flat piece until they attach and then slowly move to where i wanted them. let us know how it goes.

well ,it seemed like the branches were growing very fast which sounds weird but the two smaller pieces are going to be sold if they servive the next month to a buddy of mine im going to try to stay away (dont impulse buy)from this spieces for now and maybe go twords another easyer coral a symbolic type but its great to know i can keep up and care for one now,not the best pick for those shy of maintance but if you can get past the first month your good to go but that first month can be tough finding the place it likes.