Fresh from the ocean

Ghost

Reefing newb
Hi
I'm brand new to saltwater aquariums and to this forum. I would like to know what can be used in a tank straight from the ocean. I live about 15 minutes walk from the beach. Does a rock from straight from the ocean need curing? What is "curing" and how do I go about doing that.
Sorry if this subject was already discussed, I'm still busy going through the whole forum.
Thanks

First thing,is check with local wildlife agency about what you need to harvest legally.
Then 2nd try go as far off shore as you can.The farther out the less crap you'll get.

I agree with yote, make sure it's not illegal to harvest the rock.
then I would rinse off the rock with clean saltwater and check for unwanted hitchikers such as mantis shrimp.
you may not see a cycle using rock straight from the ocean. just keep it wet so there isn't any die-off.

also, whatever you take in from the ocean, don't put back. once you take it out, it is yours til it is dead and you throw it away. Go a long way out and please, make sure you know what you are taking and how to care for it. If you are not 100% sure, leave it there. You can end up killing lots of things in your tank by adding that "unknown" pretty starfish. I hate to see people lose entire systems from one mistake. Oh, and be careful out there, lots of Great Whites in your neck of the woods. :shock:

-Dr Marco :sfish:

Harvesting stuff for a salt aquarium is part of my fishing lisence, so there I am legal already.
Pollution around here is not much of a factor. Great white sharks are!take
I'll take a pic of anything I want to add and get the opinion of the forum first.Just to make sure I don't kill my tank

People probably didn't realize you are from South Africa Ghost.

Good luck,feel free to ask any questions you have.