Frozen food

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by Piggy, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I read when some defrost the food and use it that way. Where others just drops the cubes in frozen. Here is the question. I defrost mine in the fridge then add a little bit of garlic. Should I be using the liquid from it or discarding it?
     
    Piggy, Mar 6, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Piggy

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Piggy,I've thought about that myself.
    I think that with our tanks best interest that we should rinse the food with RO water before we feed.I bet doing that will help the water quality and hopefully help the algae wars.
     
    yote, Mar 6, 2008
    #2
    Piggy and (deleted member) like this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I've been trying to figure out where the nutrients are coming from to cause my algae. I went from one item to the next so I thought I would ask about the food. I don't want to add anything to my tank to get rid. I want to find the cause.
     
    Piggy, Mar 6, 2008
    #3
  4. Piggy

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    To my way of thinking,The water thats frozen with the food,will contain high amounts of nutrients.And since its in water,the fish cant take it out.Some corals MIGHT feed on it.But either way,I think the excess moisture is full of unwanted stuff thats bad for the tank in general.
     
    yote, Mar 6, 2008
    #4
    Piggy and (deleted member) like this.
  5. Piggy

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Conventional wisdom says that frozen food should be thawed, then rinsed off before added to the tank. Preservatives and whatever the stuff is that binds the food together supposedly can lead to algae problems.

    But my laziness trumps conventional wisdom. I don't rinse my food.
     
    Bifferwine, Mar 6, 2008
    #5
  6. Piggy

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Could the liquids be beneficial to corals and other filter feeders?
     
    RyanG, Mar 6, 2008
    #6
  7. Piggy

    Altohombre The Tennis Pro Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Highland Park, NJ
    if you were to rinse it what would you use. Much of the food is very small.
     
    Altohombre, Mar 6, 2008
    #7
  8. Piggy

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Use RO water.
     
    Bifferwine, Mar 6, 2008
    #8
  9. Piggy

    Altohombre The Tennis Pro Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Highland Park, NJ
    I mean what do you use to strain the food after it is thawed. I use my tank water to thaw the frozen food then I turkey blaster it by the powerhead.
     
    Altohombre, Mar 6, 2008
    #9
  10. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I'm going to try a brine shrip fish net to see what happens.
     
    Piggy, Mar 6, 2008
    #10
  11. Piggy

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I used to strain my frozen food using a small strainer that I got at the grocery store. It's about as big around as a coffee mug.
     
    Bifferwine, Mar 6, 2008
    #11
  12. Piggy

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I don't rinse the fish food either.I dump the milky Selcon and all into the tank.A brine shrimp net will work for anyone who wants to rinse the food.And to answer your question Ryan,its possible that the liquid does feed some corals.

    Piggy,do you think your skimmer is doing an adequate job?
     
    reeffreak, Mar 6, 2008
    #12
    RyanG likes this.
  13. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I haven't had this skimmer for long. But I'm getting lots of gunk. I think I finally have it right.
     
    Piggy, Mar 6, 2008
    #13
  14. Piggy

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Did you test for phosphates?
     
    sen5241b, Mar 6, 2008
    #14
  15. Piggy

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I was just checking Piggy.

    Sen did give me an idea.Perhaps running a phosphate remover might help.
     
    reeffreak, Mar 6, 2008
    #15
  16. Piggy

    LionFish Resident Photoshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    I know for a Fact that Sallys uses RO water in their process.
    So i just drop in the Cubes. I believe that there is some fresh TAP water used somewhere in the begining but ultimatly it is RO on the frozen product.
     
    LionFish, Mar 6, 2008
    #16
  17. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD

    Already am.
     
    Piggy, Mar 7, 2008
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.