fuge/cocopod question

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by cgoodman381, May 23, 2008.

  1. cgoodman381

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    Do beneficial bacteria or cocopods needs any sort of light to grow and reproduce? Also will cocopods get picked up by a skimmer at all? I think thats all I was wondering. :mrgreen:
     
    cgoodman381, May 23, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cgoodman381

    NewbReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    UT
    copepods do not need light that i am aware of. copepods are very small and so yes they can can picked up at by a skimmer. that is usually why you want the skimmer at the beginning of the sump and the refugium at the end so the pods that breed in the refugium don't get sucked up throught the skimmer before they can go through the DT.
     
    NewbReefer, May 24, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cgoodman381

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Neither needs light.
     
    reeffreak, May 24, 2008
    #3
  4. cgoodman381

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    as already said, pods dont need any light. I have pods everywhere. In the skimmer, return pump (canister filter), in the baffles...everywhere.
     
    cthegame, May 24, 2008
    #4
  5. cgoodman381

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    They don't need light. But they do seem to breed better when they have macroalgae in their habitat like chaeto or caulerpa, which needs light.
     
    Bifferwine, May 24, 2008
    #5
  6. cgoodman381

    cumminz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    West Valley
    Ok, so do I need to buy some pods, or will they just show up sometime?
     
    cumminz, May 27, 2008
    #6
  7. cgoodman381

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    They often show up as hitchhikers from rock/new additions. I think if you want a healthy supply you need to 'seed' your fuge with them so theres enouph to live and breed.
     
    cgoodman381, May 27, 2008
    #7
  8. cgoodman381

    cumminz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    West Valley
    Do i have to have a Fuge to have tham? I was looking in the Marine Depot Catalog and they have HOB Fuge. Should i get this for my 10 or wait until i get my 75 up?
     
    cumminz, May 27, 2008
    #8
  9. cgoodman381

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    Well I think the only reason to have them is for your fish to graze on or if you have fish that will only eat them and not prepared foods. (mandarin) I could be wrong, well see what someone else has to say.
     
    cgoodman381, May 27, 2008
    #9
  10. cgoodman381

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    oh and i didnt really answer your question, you dont need need a fuge for them, just somewhere they can easily breed without any preds. A lot of people have been able to do it in the back of their nano's.
     
    cgoodman381, May 27, 2008
    #10
  11. cgoodman381

    cumminz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    West Valley
    A mandarin are the Ones that are Rainbow Colored Goby, right?
     
    cumminz, May 27, 2008
    #11
  12. cgoodman381

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Pods are also part of your CUC they eat detrious if im not mistaken, they will also keep your sand bed stirred
     
    RyanG, May 27, 2008
    #12
  13. cgoodman381

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Pods will grow in your tank whether you have a fuge or not. When they breed in your main tank, they quickly get eaten by almost all fish. Having a fuge allows them somewhere to breed where they won't all get eaten. Some of them get sucked up by the return pump and sent to the main tank, but there are always a lot left in the fuge breeding.

    You can buy bottles of live pods for around $20 to $25, and a lot of people dump the bottle in the fuge when they first set it up to jumpstart it. If you don't want to spend the money on this, the pods will come anyways, but will take longer. You will get pods hitch hiking in on any live rock and macroalgae that you buy and put in the fuge or main tank.
     
    Bifferwine, May 27, 2008
    #13
  14. cgoodman381

    cumminz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    West Valley
    Do you reccemond a fuge or not?
     
    cumminz, May 27, 2008
    #14
  15. cgoodman381

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I would definately have a sump/furge. It's a good place to hide equipments and put algae to keep nitrates at bay and grow podss.
     
    Piggy, May 27, 2008
    #15
  16. cgoodman381

    cumminz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    West Valley
    Well ya for sure a sump
     
    cumminz, May 27, 2008
    #16
  17. cgoodman381

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    The furge is part of the sump.
     
    Piggy, May 27, 2008
    #17
  18. cgoodman381

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    Some people have them seperate.
     
    cgoodman381, May 27, 2008
    #18
  19. cgoodman381

    NewbReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    UT
    a sump/fuge also makes your system hold more water making your water parameters easier to keep stable. If you've got room in the sump or for a HOB fuge it's definitely something thats a good idea.
     
    NewbReefer, May 27, 2008
    #19
  20. cgoodman381

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    Yes you can have them seperate the choice is up to you.
     
    Piggy, May 27, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.