Gfo?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by VAreef, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. VAreef

    VAreef

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Hillsboro, TN
    I've seen reading through some posts about people using GFO. Which is a ferric oxide? Isn't this basically just rust from iron? I hear it removes phosphate but what else does it do? How does it work? I'm assuming it would not be wise to just go grind up some iron let it rust and put it in my tank? But seriously is it really that good to use?
     
    VAreef, Apr 15, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. VAreef

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    ccCapt, Apr 15, 2010
    #2
    VAreef likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. VAreef

    Hiker4twenty

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,590
    Likes Received:
    426
    Location:
    .....
    If you are planning on using GFO, get this media reactor. I bought my due to advise from Ccapt and it works awesome and is cheap. I wouldn't buy it from the link below as it's about $10 more than I paid. I think I bought mine from aquadirect.com.

    ViaAqua Poly-Reactor (Multi-Media Reactor)
     
    Hiker4twenty, Apr 15, 2010
    #3
    VAreef likes this.
  4. VAreef

    VAreef

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Hillsboro, TN
    Very good read on that stuff thanks ccCapt. I'm beginning to think running this stuff could be an overall win win. Hiker thanks for that link. I think I will look into getting one of those. I definitly don't want to run this stuff in a bag. Not really that expensive either.
     
    VAreef, Apr 16, 2010
    #4
  5. VAreef

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    GFO works great some phosban ones are alum based and when they will up they will leach po4 back into the tank i use the two little fishies phosban reactor
     
    daugherty, Apr 16, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.