Gha

Discussion in 'Algae' started by darrenahenson, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. darrenahenson

    darrenahenson

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i have recently been battling hair algea. I get ro/di watet from my lfs and the Tds is usually .50 to .80. Thirty gallon tank with an mp10 and 10 percent weekly water changes. Can te gha be contributed to bad ro/di water?
     
    darrenahenson, Sep 24, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. darrenahenson

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    It could be, yes. Tds should be 0, I personally wouldn't pay for anything other than that. Let them know and they should change their membranes.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Sep 24, 2014
    #2
    Aquarian likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. darrenahenson

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    +1
     
    Aquarian, Sep 25, 2014
    #3
  4. darrenahenson

    darrenahenson

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have told them a few times about it but they don't seem too concerned. I guess my next step is to get an rodi unit. At current, I fred frozen food every other day and have lowered my photo period. I'm rwally at a loss. Not sure what else would cause the gha. Any other ideas?
     
    darrenahenson, Sep 26, 2014
    #4
  5. darrenahenson

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    I have a whole lot of ideas, the simplest is to do a w/c with 0 tds.
    Algae scrubbers, refugium, up waterflow, upgrade cuc, check skimmer, or even a radical idea....... increase nitrates.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Sep 26, 2014
    #5
  6. darrenahenson

    darrenahenson

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've been picking it off the rocks before every water change. Just added a new clean up crew. I have a reef octopus hob skimmer running 24 hrs a day
     
    darrenahenson, Sep 26, 2014
    #6
  7. darrenahenson

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Aquarian, Sep 26, 2014
    #7
    darrenahenson likes this.
  8. darrenahenson

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    I was just reading about if you can increase nitrates, they would out compete against phosphates. ... dropping phosphates. Interesting read.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Sep 26, 2014
    #8
    Aquarian likes this.
  9. darrenahenson

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ok I found it. Google phoshates and carbon dosing. It is in reef central and has 4 pages of it. Now you can like my post.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Sep 26, 2014
    #9
    Aquarian likes this.
  10. darrenahenson

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Lol I'll have to read it at work.
     
    Aquarian, Sep 26, 2014
    #10
    mariobrothersleeve likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
Loading...