Going From Lps To Sps

ronboy

Reefing newb
i just bought new lights"2-250 halides & 2-48" vho" and i want to get into SPS. are they really that difficult to keep? i dont have a calcium reactor and i have never used kalkwrasser before.my tank is a 135 with about 1200 gph total turnover.is that enough for sps? any input will be appreciated....

Try a montipora cap, they seem to be the easiest of the SPS to keep. You are going to need more flow, at least 2500gph. The lights should be fine, but you are going to need some way to replace calcium/alkalinity. A two part solution is easy if you don't have much SPS.

two part solution would be kalkwrasser? would turbo calcium be ok?if not can you point me in the right direction for mking and dosing kalk?

Kalkwasser isn't the easiest method to use for starting to keep SPS, IMO, nor is it a two part solution. Two part solutions come in two bottles. I think bottled calcium supplements are easier if you don't have a lot of SPS. I use Kent Liquid Reactor and like it a lot, but I've tried pretty much all the Kent Marine and SeaChem calcium products and have nothing bad to say about any of them. You do not need a calcium reactor unless your SPS are pulling out the calcium faster than you can dose it, or if you're dosing so much that it's costing you an arm and a leg.

If I were you, I'd start with a couple small frags of SPS (or if you have the money, you can buy colonies). Good starters are (like McCrary said), montiporas. Birdsnest also grow super fast and are easy to keep, as are a lot of acroporas. I'd stick with a few pieces of those for now, and see how it goes. They really aren't that hard to keep if you have good lighting, and remember, SPS are usually much more sensitive to water quality than LPS or softies, so keep those nitrates as close to 0 as possible. And add a couple more powerheads too; they need a lot of flow.