Good news and bad news.

Doc

I don't work for anybody
The good news is that my UV is up and working again. I finally got the chamber i have been waiting three weeks to get. I set it up tonight and am keeping an eye on it to make sure there are no leaks. I am a bit nervous as it is a UV that is outside the tank. I figure any Ich will be dead in a few weeks and it will be safe to add fish.

Speaking of needing fish. My emperor went to the big ocean in the sky. Moment of silence...It died the day before my new chamber came in. It looked like the Ich got him. I am going to wait a few weeks before I try another one. I also lost my dragon goby. I want to watch my other fish before I doom anymore to a similar fate. Sigh - gues it happens sometimes. :mad:

-Dr Marco :sfish:

I had an ich problem as well that claimed a hippo tang. I'm not an expert on it but after much research the only way to get rid of all ich is for an aquarium to be completly fish free for 6 weeks as the ich will die off from not having a host. The only way to prevent reintroducing ich is to quarantine all new fish in a salinity of 1.009 for 6 weeks before adding them to the main tank and also quarantining anything wet for the same time period. The ich cannot live in an environment of that salinity or in an environment with no host. Even with a UV sterilizer and an ich free tank adding anything without quarantine will reintroduce it and it can still survive.

Ich is normally present on fish and only visible when the fish is under some sort of stress. It was likely something else stressing the fish that started the problem.

Yes, VA your correct Ich is stress induced. Im sorry for your losses remember the uv will only kill the parasites which are not already attached to the fish. Good luck with you next fish!!

I know how ya feel. I lost 3 clown fish an a tang in the last 4 weeks to ich. I need to get a UV Sterilizer as well. Ich is nasty stuff.