GPH for sump pump return

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by ronboy, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    i am having 1 hole drilled for overflow boxes in each corner of my tank.my tank is 150 gallons,im not sure on how much gph i should have for the return.mostly torch,frogspawn,hammer,xenia ect. type of corals in the tank...
     
    ronboy, Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ronboy

    McCrary Always Learning

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    How big is your sump going to be?
     
    McCrary, Dec 11, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    well honestly,i was goin to buy one tomorrow.im confused cause i have seen 125 gallon tanks with 30 gallon sumps,and some with 80 gallon sumps...what would you run?
     
    ronboy, Dec 11, 2007
    #3
  4. ronboy

    McCrary Always Learning

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    What are the dimensions on the 150? 48" x 24" x 30"?
     
    McCrary, Dec 11, 2007
    #4
  5. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    72"long x 23"high x 18"wide
     
    ronboy, Dec 11, 2007
    #5
  6. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    72" long for sure,cant remember exactly the other dementions
     
    ronboy, Dec 11, 2007
    #6
  7. ronboy

    McCrary Always Learning

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    A 55 gallon tank would work well for you and a pump rated for around 400 or so gallon per hour would be fine. Eheim makes a good pump, it can be used internally as well as externally. I would decide what fish and coral you want to keep and then decide the equipment as the equipment will decide on the things you want to keep.
     
    McCrary, Dec 11, 2007
    #7
    ronboy likes this.
  8. ronboy

    McCrary Always Learning

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Remember that the return pump is simply used for returning filtered water and not for circulation.
     
    McCrary, Dec 11, 2007
    #8
  9. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    oh,im new to the sump thing,thank you i did not know that.if you dont mind can i have your opinion on circulation
     
    ronboy, Dec 11, 2007
    #9
  10. ronboy

    McCrary Always Learning

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I would use Tunze on a 7095, you are looking at a lot of money, but the resell value remains extremely high and you won't find a better pump. If you are concerned about money then some Koralia 4's would work, but you aren't going to see the flow you will with Tunze. If you will be keeping softies then I would get the koralias, if you want SPS then the Tunze are a solid investment.
     
    McCrary, Dec 11, 2007
    #10
    ronboy likes this.
  11. ronboy

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I have six Koralia 3s in my 240 and really like them. I'd recommend those for circulation too.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 11, 2007
    #11
    ronboy likes this.
  12. ronboy

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I'm running 2 Koralia #4s in my 75 along with 2 of the #2s.
     
    yote, Dec 11, 2007
    #12
  13. ronboy

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    I think a 55g sump is quite a lot for a 150g tank. Biff is using a 55g refugium on her 240g tank.

    I think you could easily get by with a 30g long or a 40g breeder for your 150g tank. But, consider I've never had a reef tank that big, so I could be completely full of :pooh:.
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 11, 2007
    #13
  14. ronboy

    fishbait I found Nemo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    southeast oklahoma
    the bigger the sump the better. are you drilling two 1" holes? 1 inch holes are good for 600gph. that times two....well, you do the math. so, a pump for 1,200gph or slightly less would be ideal. if you get one slightly larger you will have to plumb in a tee with a ball valve to dump the excess flow back into the tank.
     
    fishbait, Dec 11, 2007
    #14
    ronboy likes this.
  15. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    yes 2 1" holes
     
    ronboy, Dec 12, 2007
    #15
  16. ronboy

    hotimportknight New! Big Tank Club!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Marshfield, WI USA
    Oops, double post, And I cant delete it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2007
    hotimportknight, Dec 12, 2007
    #16
  17. ronboy

    hotimportknight New! Big Tank Club!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Marshfield, WI USA
    Yeah, i was going to say 400 gph is way too low for that kind of sump with 2 overflows. I'm running a 600 gph overflow and a 700 gph pump but by the time the back pressure on the pump is taken into consideration its about right. You could have a less powerful pump than your overflow, in fact I think I would rather have a smaller return pump than my overflow. so basically all the water that gets put back into the tank will overflow instantly, so if your returning 1000 gph, only 1000 gph will be able to overflow into the sump. (not sure if you get it, im attempting to make sense here, but i'm not an expert) Hopefully someone will verify my hypothesis here, with the overflows it cant flow more than the pump can handle returning if the water isnt high enough to overflow... And if you have a return pump that is doing too much work, you can throttle it back with a ball valve, or like Biff suggests, make a T with a ball valve to let the excess water back into the sump, instead of just making more pressure.
     
    hotimportknight, Dec 12, 2007
    #17
  18. ronboy

    ronboy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spokane,wa
    thank you much...it makes sense...lol
     
    ronboy, Dec 12, 2007
    #18
  19. ronboy

    Namor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Independence, MO
    what would you guys use for circulation in a 40 gallon tank? 1.5 in hole drilled in, with same size return.
     
    Namor, Dec 12, 2007
    #19
  20. ronboy

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    What is this a close loop?

    Never seen a tank with the same size drain and return.
     
    reeffreak, Dec 12, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.