Great site...Glad to join

IMOReefDesigns

Reefing newb
Hello all,

I am relatively new at the saltwater hobby. I have actually have had freshwater tanks since I was around 10 years old. (Several years ago). I wanted to be an ichthyologist in college but ended up with a business degree. I had about 10 tanks in my dorm room, ranging from a 10 gallon up to two 180-gallon tanks.

I have had quite a few successes in the freshwater world including several breeding pairs. Dempsey’s, Veil tail Oscars, Firemouths. But I always wanted to get into the saltwater hobby.

When I met my girlfriend, now my wife of 5 years, her brother in law was big into aquariums as well. He had his own side business of saltwater maintenance. I had read a lot about saltwater, but I was able to take my study to practice. I spent a lot of time with him learning the successes and failures of the hobby.

Ten years later, my brother in law was diagnosed with inoperable brain cancer. He was not able to work and lost his house. This story is bittersweet. He had 8 tanks in house with a total of about 1500 gallons of saltwater. 600 lbs of live rock. When we were working on all of his tanks, he said that I was the only one that he trusted to work on his tanks and I was appreciative. So was he, I inherited two 75 gallon tanks which I built into a closet in my living room. I have them stacked on top of each other running off of the same sump. The rock works great for biological.

Here is the list:

Two 75 Oceanic Reef ready tanks
150 lbs of live rock (Marshall Island and ???)
Breeding pair of Tomato Clowns
2 Gorgonians
Odessa protein filter
Homemade sump (Rubbermaids w/ hair curlers)
High output fluorescent lights