Green algae on glass

Discussion in 'Algae' started by SSalty, Dec 10, 2007.

  1. SSalty

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    I am getting sick of having to clean my glass twice a day:frustrat:This shit grows extremely fast. I am doing weekly water changes with R.O. My API test kit is reading 0 nitrates and 0 phosphates (kind of wondering if API is accurate).

    Any ideas?
     
    SSalty, Dec 10, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SSalty

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Get more astraea snails! How many do you currently have?
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 10, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SSalty

    dolphins8426

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I am having the same problem. I have a green film on the glass everyday that I have clean. could be worse. I have 20 snails in a 55 gallon and they don't seem to keep up on it. I use ro water myself and weekly water changes, but it is there everyday. I am sure we coulf buy another piece of equipment to put in our sump. ha. you gotta love this hobby. ahhhhhh
     
    dolphins8426, Dec 10, 2007
    #3
  4. SSalty

    MikMcgyver Vlamingi owner 4 life!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Astreas are great glass cleaners... cheap too...
     
    MikMcgyver, Dec 10, 2007
    #4
  5. SSalty

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Astrea's will never be able to clean this problem. I like my glass to be really clean. There has got be another reason why I am having this algae problem.
     
    SSalty, Dec 10, 2007
    #5
  6. SSalty

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    How long are you running your lights?
    You may have to cut them back 2 or 3 hours.
     
    yote, Dec 10, 2007
    #6
  7. SSalty

    fishbait I found Nemo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    southeast oklahoma
    my tank did that too when it was young. as it matured I saw it less and less. now I don't have any. I just have to wipe the little fuzzy algae off once a week.
     
    fishbait, Dec 10, 2007
    #7
  8. SSalty

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I'm running 6 bags of Chemipure and Chemipure elite(thanks yote!) through filter cylinders,kinda like a phosphate reactor.I can go a whole week now without having to clean the glass.
     
    reeffreak, Dec 10, 2007
    #8
  9. SSalty

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    I've gone back to running Phosban in the return section of my refugium.

    I've got a hair algae outbreak and it's driving me nuts. I change water. I use RO/DI. I am scraping my front glass every day. I am anal--I mean ANAL-- and I want my front glass sparkley clean. It grows a fog of green algae every day. I got hair algae all over my rocks, on my snail shells, on my powerheads. :frustrat:

    Too embarrassed to even post a pic of it.

    I shut my lights off for 3 days last weekend. Been cleaning hair algae manually by putting my hand in the tank and ripping it off rocks and powerheads. Finally broke down and dropped a bit of Phosban into a media bag and chucked it into the refugium.

    I even got purple hair algae. PURPLE!!! :frustrat:

    :grumble: :grumble: :grumble: :grumble: :grumble: :grumble: :grumble:

    I'm upset--can ya tell?:mrgreen:
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 11, 2007
    #9
  10. SSalty

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    There may be a market some where for purple hair algae:mrgreen:

    I know how it is Rc.My tank is just now starting to get over a hair outbreak.
    IMHO,Any and all tanks are going to go through algae and cyano outbreaks from time to time.Its all just part of the process of the tank settling in.
     
    yote, Dec 11, 2007
    #10
  11. SSalty

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    I bought this damn Flame angel thinking it would eat some of the hair algae. No joy.
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 11, 2007
    #11
  12. SSalty

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    newer tanks have that problem. it does tend to go away after 8-9 months of a tank going up. It is an irritant and you can cut it down by putting in a phosphate remover, using carbon and good water changes

    -Doc
     
    Doc, Dec 11, 2007
    #12
  13. SSalty

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Thanks for the advice. I figured it was because my tank is fairly new. I have had it up about 8 months. I will sit here waiting patiently.
     
    SSalty, Dec 11, 2007
    #13
  14. SSalty

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    yeah. me 2. Mine has been up for 6 weeks and I still get it from time to time. My kids like cleaning the glass so it makes it OK since I don't have to see it

    -Doc
     
    Doc, Dec 11, 2007
    #14
  15. SSalty

    McCrary Always Learning

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Bryan- Phosphates are very hard to detect reliably using liquid tests (merck is the exception), I would begin using a good granular ferric oxide and carbon. Algae needs phosphates and dissolved organics, the ferric oxide will reduce phosphates and the carbon will remove the molecules that the skimmer leaves behind.
     
    McCrary, Dec 11, 2007
    #15
  16. SSalty

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    If all else fails, get yourself a sea hare and some Marine SAT.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 11, 2007
    #16
  17. SSalty

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Biff;
    Will a sea hare REALLY eat all the algae on my rocks? I got it BAD right now and it's making me crazy. Are they "selective" eaters and only eat a certain type of algae? Or, will it eat ALL the algae in my tank?

    I'm tempted.

    I guess ya just trade it back to the LFS when all your algae is gone or supplement it with seaweed if you want to keep it around?
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 11, 2007
    #17
  18. SSalty

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    They will eat any algae you have! ESPECIALLY hair algae! You CAN supplement their diet with seaweed sheets, but I found mine really hard to feed that way (they just didn't take to it). So I ended up taking mine back to the store or giving her to a friend.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 11, 2007
    #18
  19. SSalty

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    The hare I had would even eat cyano.
    IMO,sea hares are better than any snail on the market.
     
    yote, Dec 11, 2007
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.