Green Hair Algea problem in my 3 Gallon!!!

Discussion in 'Algae' started by TropicalRespect, May 31, 2011.

  1. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    I have had a green hair algea and red slime problem in my 3 gallon. Im using all RO/DI water with water changes every week. I have been doing everything right like proper water flow, 8 hour light period, a clean up crew, and i havent had any fish in my aquarium until yesterday. i got a small damesel. Red Slime algea is aslo growing on my corals and a little on the rocks. Theres a lot of dusty stuff built up on the rocks.
    What could be my problem??? Thanks
     
    TropicalRespect, May 31, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TropicalRespect

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Do you have enough flow in the tank? Slime algae tends to accumulate when there isn't enough water movement. Have you been feeding anything?
     
    Bifferwine, May 31, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    There seems to be a lot of flow in the tank.... how much flow should there be?
    Im using a 90 gph HOB filter.
    I just started feeding my fish yesterday. I make sure he eats every flake of food i put in.
     
    TropicalRespect, May 31, 2011
    #3
  4. TropicalRespect

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    No matter how small your damsel is, that tank is too small for him. And a fish is only going to make your algae problem much worse.
     
    little_fish, May 31, 2011
    #4
  5. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    I know! But i couldnt fight the urge to buy a fish!
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 1, 2011
    #5
  6. TropicalRespect

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    So that makes it ok?
     
    little_fish, Jun 1, 2011
    #6
  7. TropicalRespect

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    :cry:
     
    Bifferwine, Jun 1, 2011
    #7
  8. TropicalRespect

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,847
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    You need to add more flow, or adjust your flow so it is hitting all areas of the tank. If you don't have a power head, I'd suggest getting a Koralia nano powerhead.
     
    fastrd400, Jun 1, 2011
    #8
  9. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    Ya i might have to give him away.
    I might have to get a powerhead to see if it makes a difference.
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 2, 2011
    #9
  10. TropicalRespect

    Reef Nutz

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Arizona
    :cheerful: And one other question I have for you, how is the tank now? Don't think i recollect reading that part. Whats your phosphate level?
     
    Reef Nutz, Jun 2, 2011
    #10
  11. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    I dont have to much red slime growing now, but I cant seem to get rid of the green hair algae. Even after doing a 3 day black out, it looked just the same as before the blackout.
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 2, 2011
    #11
  12. TropicalRespect

    Reef Nutz

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Arizona
    What is your phosphate reading? Need to run phosban to remove excess. To deplete the system, then no more growth.
     
    Reef Nutz, Jun 3, 2011
    #12
  13. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    What exactly is phosban?
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 3, 2011
    #13
  14. TropicalRespect

    Reef Nutz

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Arizona
    Reef Nutz, Jun 3, 2011
    #14
  15. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    looks to big for a 3 gallon....
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 3, 2011
    #15
  16. TropicalRespect

    Reef Nutz

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Arizona
    There are others out there. I just threw up a quick idea for you on what they are.
     
    Reef Nutz, Jun 3, 2011
    #16
    TropicalRespect likes this.
  17. TropicalRespect

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Australia
    you can always drop it in a stocking where there is flow? and just let it run, especially if you have a little filter area at the back of your 3 gallon
     
    Jmck, Jun 3, 2011
    #17
  18. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    do they have phosphate removers in the form of filter media?
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 3, 2011
    #18
  19. TropicalRespect

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Australia
    Not as filter media, they come as pellets. So you can basically stick it in your filter in a filter sock or in a stocking and it will do the same job as having it in a reactor
     
    Jmck, Jun 3, 2011
    #19
    TropicalRespect likes this.
  20. TropicalRespect

    TropicalRespect Dont Worry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    Nice that would be easier.
    whats it called?
     
    TropicalRespect, Jun 3, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.