Greetings from the UK!

slinger

Reefing newb
Hi my name is David and I am just starting out in marine fish keeping.
My wife is buying me the full kit for our wedding anniversary and I have come here to pick up any advice I can.

My grandfather and father kept tropical fish so I have a general knowledge in that area but saltwater is a new one for me.

I'd like to say that after viewing some of the pictures of your tanks you have some really great and beautiful setups! :D

Welcome to the site, glad you have found us. You will find a lot of information in the helpful articles, but, feel free to post any questions in any of the general reef or fish forums. There a lot more people will view your questions and the responses have been very good. Hope you time here is informative and fun. good luck with your project/system.

Thanks for the warm welcome! :D

Im not completely sure on the kind of system Im getting yet, we're going to the local aquarium shop to get it all tomorrow. I want to get a small to medium sized marine / saltwater setup, probably aiming to keep about 5-6 fish in it. I definately want a Clown fish, Blue Damsel, Angels, that type of thing, the brighter the better! Basically Im a beginner with this so Im going to listen to all the advice Im given and go off that. My wife has already been to the shop and spoken with the guys there about whats best within our budget etc and she said that they have got plenty of ideas and I have to listen to what they say lol so Im pretty much in their hands with it all to be honest.

Best advice for a beginner - buy a few books! That's a great way to start learning about keeping saltwater fish/tanks - plus they are neat to keep on the coffee table as they have pretty pictures that guests can flip through!