has anybody else

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by dustin_P74, Sep 2, 2008.

  1. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    downloaded the new google chrome beta that released today, or is it just me?
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 2, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dustin_P74

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I guess it's just you :).
     
    Bifferwine, Sep 3, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dustin_P74

    jcegt87 Dude Dude DUDE!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Texas City , TX 77591
    ewww i instaled and right away uninstalled it just another browser i think ill keep IE
     
    jcegt87, Sep 3, 2008
    #3
  4. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    of course it is just another browser, it wasnt supposed to be anything other then that
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 3, 2008
    #4
  5. dustin_P74

    lightcs4 Loving to learn

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I'm very happy with Firefox and don't have time to run a beta through the tests.
     
    lightcs4, Sep 5, 2008
    #5
  6. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    im using it now and have been using it solely as my browser since its launch and have had zero problems with it, you wouldnt even know it was a beta because there are zero bugs that i have experienced
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 5, 2008
    #6
  7. dustin_P74

    Altohombre The Tennis Pro Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Highland Park, NJ
    I would have if they had a Mac version out. Google is on the fast track to being even more of monopoly. Whoever runs Google is pure genius. I remember when it was just a search engine amongst all the others.
     
    Altohombre, Sep 5, 2008
    #7
  8. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    the two creators of google, created google in college if im not mistaken and now they can retire on some private island
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 5, 2008
    #8
  9. dustin_P74

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    I'm going to stick with firefox because its open source.
     
    cthegame, Sep 5, 2008
    #9
  10. dustin_P74

    OurFishies Reef-aholic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I downloaded it. I run Firefox, I.E. and Google Chrome now - lol, all at the same time! Essentially choosing a browser dependent on what website I have open.

    I don't like the history tracking. :p I can't seem to find where to turn it off also. Google does allow you to pick which search engine it is hooked up to.

    I am visiting the Googleplex in October though, I can give them any feedback you may have. ;)
     
    OurFishies, Sep 5, 2008
    #10
  11. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    the only way i have found to fix it is to click on the little wrench in the upper right corner and clear it
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 5, 2008
    #11
  12. dustin_P74

    OurFishies Reef-aholic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Yeah, I don't want to have to clear it. I have my other browser set to clear everything as soon as I close them.

    What is really funny, is that I work in internet advertising, and I don't like my history tracked...
     
    OurFishies, Sep 5, 2008
    #12
  13. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    yeah me neither, i dont like anyone knowing what i do on the internet, so i run tor from the minute my computer turns on to the moment it shuts down
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 6, 2008
    #13
  14. dustin_P74

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Porn mode
     
    RyanG, Sep 6, 2008
    #14
  15. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    not at all, too many viruses out there to even take the risk
     
    dustin_P74, Sep 6, 2008
    #15
  16. dustin_P74

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    No isnt that the lingo now for "tracking free" mode?
     
    RyanG, Sep 6, 2008
    #16
  17. dustin_P74

    OurFishies Reef-aholic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Microsoft is supposed to be coming out with a mode in which nothing is tracked. There is a bit of controversy over the whole thing. At the same time though, they actually are considering adjusting their search engine results based on browsing habits. It will be interesting to see where the battle of the browsers ends up.
     
    OurFishies, Sep 6, 2008
    #17
  18. dustin_P74

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    I run FireFox at home. At work I have to run IE because some of the websites we use don't support FireFox. IE sucks.

    Microsoft would be better off committing their resources to something better than Vista. I just got a new computer at work (had no choice which OS or brand of computer). It's a Lenovo Think Center with Vista. POS computer with the a POS operating system. I hate it. :frustrat: I spend 15% of my day either waiting on it or restarting it. Takes 30 seconds just to print a document and get it to quit "thinking" so I can move on to the next task. There really aren't any "tweaks" that you can do to make Vista run faster. It was designed to protect inexperienced users from their own stupidity. No thought was given to the experienced user who just wants a bare bones unit that runs fast.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2008
    Rcpilot, Sep 6, 2008
    #18
  19. dustin_P74

    lightcs4 Loving to learn

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Exactly why I run GNU/Linux on my home system. I'm currently running Suse Linux, but have run Redhat, Ubuntu, and Knoppix. All use the same core system and allow me to do everything I need without the incredibly slow response of Vista. I also use OpenOffice (www.openoffice.org) so I don't get soaked by the high cost of Microsoft Office.
     
    lightcs4, Sep 7, 2008
    #19
  20. dustin_P74

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    i run 64 bit vista ultimate by choice and i like it, but since you dont and you say they should focus on making a new OS youll be glad to know that they are, its called windows 7 or something like that
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
    dustin_P74, Sep 7, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.