Hatching Brine shrimp/Quick question

SalteeDogg

Reefing newb
I just bought some brine shrimp eggs and it says to add 1 quart of water to 1 teaspoon of eggs and after an hour to add 2 table spoons of rock salt I was wondering if rock salt is the same salt as regular salt mix??? I know this may be a stupid question but im new to this so please help..Thanks

I always used regular old table salt to hatch them when I had my freshwater angelfish room. I would not use the salt mix. Do you have a air stone hook up to gently tumble the eggs?

What about the eggs that fizz up about an inch out of the water? I have like a million eggs that have fizzed up and dried up on the sides? Do you keep puttin them back in?

The best method is to use marine salt mixed up to normal specs or a little higher in salinity 30-35 ppt (1.022 - 1.026). pH of 8 to 9 is fine. They only live for about five hours in fresh water. Use as much air as it takes to keep the water well aerated, and to keep the cysts (eggs) in suspension. Air stones are optional. Lighting requirements are not great, a simple 12 watt twist buld preferably in a daylight spectrum is best. A bottom drain on the hatching container works best as it makes it easiest to seperate the hatched cysts, brine shrimp and unhatched shrimp cysts easier. With the air turned off, the empty cysts will be on top, there will then be an open space and then the freshly hatched shrimp, then another open space and then the unhatched cysts which will be settled to the bottom. A "V" bottom or round bottonm, in that order, are the preferred shape of hatching containers. They usually begin hatching within 18 to 24 hours and are through hatching within 36 to 48 hours.

Dang cat! I will try this for the second time.

This is how I made my hatchery.

1. I took a three liter bottle cut off the bottom. Then punch out three hole around the rim. Tie a piece of sting to each hole. Group all strings together to make a loop. This is what it will hang by.