Hello All (Advice needed)

robeterl

Reefing newb
I am a newbie to the hobby (1 month).

In this time period I have had some surprising success after trying to rush the tank.

I have a 40gal breeder with about 20lbs of live rock, 1inch live sand, 7 hermit crabs, and 4 snails. I also brought 2 fish (green chromis and siccortail damsel and I am pretty sure too soon). The chromis did not survive the weekend however the siccortail has been going strong for about two weeks. My question is when would be the best time to try to ass more fish to my tank?

Welcome!

First off you are going to need some more live rock in your tank - its recommended to have 1-2lbs per gallon - so your tank needs at least 40-80lbs of live rock. Second, damsels can be really mean fish, and I'm guessing your damsel may have killed the chromis. Have you thought about the other types of fish you want to add to your tank? If they are peaceful fish, then you'll probably want to consider returning the damsel to the store, otherwise it will probably bully and kill new additions. Also, its generally a good idea to wait 3-4 weeks between each fish addition to give the bacteria enough time to reproduce enough to catch up with the added waste load from each fish. How long did you cycle your tank for and what are your parameters looking like now?

I would eventually like to add 2 clownfish, 1 Royal Gamma, 3 Pajama Cardinal, and 1 lemon peel angel. I will definitely add more live rock, I was just doing it little by little. I had cycled the about a week before I added the fish (which is why I think he died just not sure) and it has been cycling about 3 weeks total. My water levels now are 8.2pH, 0.25ppm ammonia, 0 ppm NO2, and 5 ppm NO3 after a 20% water change 5 days ago.