Hello All

charlesp123

charlesp123
I finally have my 30 gallon breeder tank set up with 40 pounds of Caribsea Arag-Alive sand, 12 pounds of Live Rock, 30 pounds of Texas Dry rock and a lonely Clown Fish

Attachments

• 20130425_221752.jpg
    20130425_221752.jpg
    109.8 KB · Views: 262
Nice man! I like the "open" set up. Plenty of room and possibilities. Your tag says you've been in the hobby for 1 week....did you cycle your tank yet before putting in your fish?

I did cycle the tank with that juice that goes great with coffee, jk. A little down that the LFS told me not to get any coral for 1-2 months. Also I am new to purchasing items and realized that I paid 30%-50% more for the same items that I bought at the LFS rather than online. I just took it as a trade off for all of the advice they gave me though... and saved a little on shipping. The live rock in the pictures I bought for $5-$7/lb. at the LFS. I have no idea what to compare it to if anyone could add in.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    146.5 KB · Views: 250
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    113.7 KB · Views: 240
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 248
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    122.6 KB · Views: 243
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    180.7 KB · Views: 221
I play things cautiously with this hobby. I didn't put any fish in for two months, and no corals for three and a half. Even then, I am adding them one at time (also partly for budgetary reasons), and with a few weeks in between. Hopefully your LFS is a locally owned shop, so if you paid more, maybe you can also feel good about supporting your local economy...
$5-$7 for LR isn't a bad deal as long as it is good quality rock. I got mine for a bit cheaper, but I was ready to pay more for better quality. It just wasn't around when I was ready to start up. Having poor quality LR will set your progress back by a bit...more die off, bigger ammonia spikes, possible bad hitchhikers and/or algae.