Hello and Help

tdenham735

Reefing newb
Hi everyone...

I'm fairly new to saltwater aquariums. About 6 months now. Things seems to have been doing ok, a few ups and downs trying to get everything right. Finally things seem pretty stable PH is about 7.8, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrates about 3.0, but hard to tell with API kit. Took a while to get Nitrates down. Bio pellets seems to have brought them down after about a month from 20 ppm. Salt level is 1.024 using refractometer. My lighting are T5 HO. Two power heads, 750 and a 650. I have a 30 gallon sump with 150 Reef octopus skimmer. Nothing in the sump except a couple of rocks and bio pellets.

Not much algae since Nitrates have been down...I need to get a kit to test phosphates...I had the local pet store test my phosphates and they said it is very low and fine.

Recently I've noticed what looks sort of like sponge, growing a lot high flow areas...it also is sort of flaky and breaks loose easily causing small floating particles. I've cleaned the rock, walls, filters, etc...but it just keeps coming back.

Anyone have an idea what this is and how to get rid of it.

I've posted a couple of photos...one of the wall showing growth after only two days after cleaning and one of the floating debis. There is a lot under the rocks, but difficult to get photos because of low lighting.
wall.jpg
floating.jpg

Thanks and hi to everyone here! Looks like a lot of good information here!

I can't tell exactly what you're talking about...

Is it like a big clump of stuff? Or is it a bunch of little "heads"?

Sponges are harmless, generally.

I can't tell exactly what you're talking about...

Is it like a big clump of stuff? Or is it a bunch of little "heads"?

Sponges are harmless, generally.

It's the small spots on the glass...looks kind of spongy, but it's getting all over everything. It actually accumulates and gets like a large sponge...gray and ugly.

Especially on the rocks...if I let it go it would cover everything.