Hello everyone! Yep, I'm a newbie :D

halostar9

Reefing newb
Hello, everyone!

I am a newbie in the saltwater hobby. My goal is to eventually have a marine reef system but I have so much yet to learn. I just started my tank about 3 and 1/2 weeks ago and am trying to research information about my tank as much as possible. So, I look forward to talking to all of you and getting feedback and hopefully I can do the same for you all one day..lol!

halostar9

Well, when I first started my tank a few weeks ago I just had a 29 gallon tank, salt, water, water conditioner, heater, and hang-on filter. But within days I added about 10 lbs of live rock and gradually more and more. I also added a blue damsel and a true percula clown at that time. I have set aside a CPR Bak-Pak 2 protein skimmer. This past weekend we invested in a hydor nano powerhead and a Fluval 205 canister filter for the tank. Both of these are working really well!

Last weekend we met a guy at our LFS that just walked up to us and said they were renovating their house and he wanted to get rid of his saltwater fish and accessories. We inherited about 50-70 pounds of live rock that has been in use for about 10 years along with a black and white oscellaris clown and a true percula clown (now our second one we have), a Finnex Power Compact light, and whatever treatment solutions he had (which we haven't touched as we are letting the tank cycle).

The only thing I that slightly concerns me was the amount of green hair algae on the rocks he gave us. I pulled off as much of it as I could before placing it in our tank but for now I am relying on our two emerald crabs to take care of it for now. Any suggestions in that area?

Thanks!