hello everyone

fishbait

I found Nemo
just wanted to introduce myself. i am new to saltwater and this website. i've had freshwater tanks since i was ten years old. allways wanted to do saltwater. so i finally took the plunge. i have to say that i'm totally addicted. freshwater was getting a little boring after 21 years. i converted my 55 gallon freshwater to saltwater on new years day. what a new years resolution huh. so far my equipment is a coralife 65 super skimmer, a cascade canister filter,current usa dual actinic lights. appx. 3 inches of sand and 50 pounds of live rock. currently taking donations for my need more rock foundation. if anyone's interested in donating.haha! as for my critters i have 2 percula clowns, a diamond goby, 1 cleaner shrimp and an anemone. which i just bought yesterday.

well, i'm kinda scared about my lighting after reading the post here tonite. I have the current usa satelitte. it has dual daylight 6500/10000k bulbs. and the actinic bulbs that are purple on one side and blue on the other. I cant remember what they were called. they are 65 watts per bulb. is 135 watts enough for the anemone?

Bobby is right, 6 to 8 watts per gallon. You have a little over 2 watts per gallon. That's enough light for fish, but not for corals or anemones.

thanks for the info guys. i feel a little ripped off by my pet store guy. i told him what i was wanting to raise and he said yeah, those lights are bright enough to raise anything you want. i guess that was because they were the brightest ones that he had in stock. i told you guys wrong on the model. they are currrent orbits, and not satellites

i'm not sure what kind of anemone i have. maybe a rock anemone? he has long tentacles that are white with a little purple at the ends. i just know its not a sebae or bubble tip because that's the ones i really like. and the store was out of them when i bought mine