Hello everyone

fredo24

Reefing newb
Name is Fredo and im pretty new to this. I have a 30 gal with a clown and a brown scopas tang. I have no live rock in my tank just some plastic decos.

Hello and welcome! Feel free to ask any questions you might have. Scopas tangs need tanks 100 gallons or larger, I'd look into finding him a new home or upgrading your tank size if you plan on keeping him.

Cool! Thats exactly where i was going. He is still juvenile so hes ok for now but i will be upgrading real soon. But i encountered a bit of a concern. My water is kind of cloudy..white. I tried water changes, water clarifiers and it doesnt seem to help. Lately i have also been getting nitrite and nitrate readings...not high but still even after water changes. Any thoughts?

Do you add any additives to the water? And what kind of water do you use for your water changes and top-off (tap water, RODI water, etc.)? Have you added anything new to the tank recently or changed any of your routines?

Ok well for water changes i use tap water. I use NovAqua+ water conditioner and AmQuel+ to remove nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia. I did add a new deco piece...about a month ago. No protein skimmer, but i have a regular carbon bio filter and feed my friends once/day.

I would switch from tap water to RODI water. Tap water can contain other heavy metals that can harm your tank inhabitants. You can buy RODI water at your LFS or even Walmart carries it. What kind of food do you feed (flakes, pellets, frozen, etc.)?

Well this was not a problem in the past but i will try it. I usually feed frozen items like brine and algae.
PIC-0069.jpg

This is Alex (clown) and Ruben (Tang)

Welcome to the site!