Hello from London (Canada not the UK... or Texas).

titusda

Reefing newb
Hi All,

I'm new to the forums, I'm just getting into saltwater reef aquariums. I currently have a 46 gallon freshwater aquarium that I'm slowly converting to a live plant aquarium (just have to finish the CO2 system before I go too much further). In my existing tank I have 2 Silver sharks, 2 rainbow sharks, 4 deep fin angels, 3 pleco's. I recently installed moonlights that makes my room feel more like being at the lake now.

At this point I've picked up the aquarium that I want to use for my saltwater tank it's a 30 gallon tall aquarium (space is limited for me so I had to go for a tall tank instead of a long one). I'm on this forum and a few others to get some advise and suggestions on what equipment and products have worked for some and what hasn't so I can make a more informed decision before I start spending my hard earned cash on the new tank.

As a side does anyone know if a silver shark or angel will eat a pleco? when I first setup my tank I had a small pleco about 1 1/2" long in the tank with the 2 sharks and 2 angels each about 2-3" in lenght. I went to work one morning and all 5 fish were there, I came home and I could see the sharks and angels but I never saw the pleco that night, the next morning there was a build up of brown algae forming and I thought that would draw him out of hiding but nope after day 2 still no sign of him... long story short after 5 business days I had a good bloom of brown algae going and no sign of a pleco. So when I was able to make it to the pet store I bought 3 larger plecos 2-4" and sofar they are all still there.