Hello

Becca

Reefing newb
Hello all

I am brand new to saltwater.
I have not yet purchased anything.
I have my list of fish I would like to keep, but that it.
I have been reading like crazy and I still have lots of question, so let me start by saying THANK YOU for helping me and being patient with me.

These are the fish I would like to have:
Flame Angel
Ocellaris Clownfish
Orchis Dottyback
Neon Goby
Purple Firefish
Blue Tang
and maybe a Royal Gramma (not to sure about this one yet, I still have to read about this one)

so I would like to know what size tank do you think I should start with and how much live rock and sand and so on....

Thanks again for you help
B

Welcome to the reef Becca! Go as big as you can afford, most people that start off small end up upgradeing soon after they get the addiction so you are better off starting with a larger tank. Again welcome to the site feel free to ask any questions you mught have and when the MODS and ADMINISTRATOR are finished rearranging the helpful ARTICLES section, It is a great place to start reading. Do as much research as you can before you buy anything.

The rule of thumb is 1-2lbs of live rock per gallon of volume.

yes go as big as you can. do you want a Reef or a FOWLR(fish only with live rock) and yes get about 1-2 pounds of rock per gallon i lean more to 2 myself. you can use mostly dry base rock then seed with live rock the more live rock the better. but it is expencive. and just ask any questions that come to your mind.

Welcome to the reef.
If you have your heart set on the blue tang,then you'll at least a 180 gallon tank.
And like Ryan and James stated,1 to 2 pounds of rock per gallon is the general rule of thumb.
Be sure to post any questions that you have,someone will have the answers.

Yote is right about the blue tang, they need a lot of space. In fact, any tang you get will likely need at least 100 gallons. If you can't do that, then you'll need to pass on having a tang.