Hello

Patrick76

Reefing newb
Hey im new to this form. I have had a planted freshwater tank for 6 years. I am thinking on converting it to saltwater what is the first place where I should look to start geting converted over? I have a 29 gallon tank with a canister filter and a 130 watt current USA light. What other eqip do I need also?

Welcome to the reef. I would recommend you go to the article section of this site and read as much as you can. To start off with you'll need LR, sand, salt and ro water. As for live rock 1-2 pound per gallon is recommended. If your on a budget you can buy some base rock and seed it with live rock. You'll have to cycle the tank. Do not use fish to do this. All you need to do is ghost feed or add a shrimp (the type you eat) to start the cycle. You'll also need a good protein skimmer. As for lights most get T5's but it depends on if your doing a fish only with live rock or a reef tank. My advice is to know what type of tank you want and do lots of research. If in doubt ask.

Read as much as you can and do research before you get started.

#1 rule is to be patient.

oh and welcome to the forums.

I am really new to this site also i have been in the saltwater fish hobby off an on for 5 yrs. All i can suggest is to do alot of research on this and ask alot of questions a good website to get you started is Petwhse.com to get you started. Good Luck!!

So I mainly need just a skimmer and the chemicals to start right? Where is a good article on chemicals and how to start them for a 29 gallon tank. Reef only with fish when cycle is over I guess.