help! how to hang big lights?

tankedchemist

Reef enthusiast
Not sure where else to post this, so if I'm guessing wrong please feel free to move it...

Anyway, I just got this hanging kit from marineland. There are no instructions-- just a little plastic bag with two sets of wires in it. Here's pics of the wires assembled (as they came):

utf-8BSU1HMDAxNTMtMjAwOTExMDctMjE0N.jpg

and unscrewed so you can see the "inner workings". Also, I included the loops that I guess are supposed to attach to something in the ceiling... although the thing to go in the ceiling was not included.

utf-8BSU1HMDAxNTUtMjAwOTExMDctMjE0O.jpg

So, here's what I need to know. How can I adjust the length of these wires? They're too long, and the light would hang below the edge of my tank... which clearly won't work! Also, what do I need to attach these to the ceiling? Or could I attach it to a shelf of some sort?

I'm a total newb when it comes to this construction type crap. These lights have been so much trouble, I just want to get them hung and move on :frustrat::frustrat::frustrat:

I think its safe to say you loop that cable through the hole at the other end and choke down on th eye hook you install in the overhead, then tighten down on the allen key at the other end to level your light.

tek-hanging-kit.jpg

Google Tek light kits, looks like you slide one end into your light, the end with the thread, and hang the loop end on your ceiling hardware. Make leveling adjustments with the allen key lock down on the light end, and slide it back into the light.

I have used things like that before to hang light fixtures.

You should be able to push the top down on the cylander and slide the wire through to adjust the height. They work kinda like chinese finger traps.