Help in cleaning up algae

mateysp

Reefing newb
I'm a bit of a noob, and I have been having some algae problems. My tank has been set up about 3 months, it has 2 false perc clowns, a coral banded shrimp, and a feather duster. I have had brown algae on my glass in the past that I simply got off my a magfloat, but now things are getting worse.

First, I have some kind of hair algae growing on the crushed coral substrate. I don't know how to get this off, I have never stirred the sand bed and I am afraid to do. Any other way to get this off? (picture #1)

Second, I again have what looks like the same kind of hair algae growing on some of my rocks. If you can't tell I seeded some dead rock from some live rock. Thats why the rocks my looks different different. I'm not so concerned about this as I don't think it looks too bad, but I don't want it to be harmful to anything. (picture #2)

Finally I have some weird algae growing on the back of the tank. It is purple and looks like it has bubbles in it. This I would like to remove (picture #3)

It makes me nervous to get in there and clean because I don't want to hurt anything or remove anything that may be good.

I am also very worried about messing with the sandbed as I have been told that if you don't do it regularly I should not do it ever.

Any advice on the removal (or non removal) would be awesome!! Thanks

Cheers :Cheers:
Sean

Attachments

• DSCN0446.jpg
    DSCN0446.jpg
    49 KB · Views: 870
  • DSCN0447.jpg
    DSCN0447.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 348
  • DSCN0450.jpg
    DSCN0450.jpg
    34.5 KB · Views: 368
Sean, can you tell us more about your tank:

1. How often have you done water changes/how many gallons per change?
2. What are your water parameters looking like?
3. How often/how much are you feeding?
4. What is your lighting schedule?

Sean, can you tell us more about your tank:

1. How often have you done water changes/how many gallons per change?
2. What are your water parameters looking like?