Help me choose a pump for new sump

CMOS

Reefing newb
Hey All,

I'm retiring my HOB skimmer in lieu of a newly built sump, which will include a RL-125 skimmer and a refugium section.

I have no experience with pumps for this application so I'll need some help choosing a pump for my sump.

Here are the specs for my system:

* tank is ~46 gallons (36x12x24)
* sump is about a 12 gallon capacity (30x9x18, 10" water level)
* I'll have about 58-60" of pump head height
* L-box overflow spill area is 10" x 5"
* area in sump for pump is 8" x 4-3/4

What kind of pump capacity should I get keeping in mind that I don't want the water to travel too fast through the refuguim as to render it useless.

Would an Eheim 1250 be a suitable choice?

Thanks for any suggestions.

CMOS

How many gph can your overflow handle? You want to match the overflow rate and pump flow rate. For example, if your overflow can handle 600 gph, look for a pump that pushes aprox the same volume. You DO NOT want a pump that pushes more than the overflow can drain back into the sump or you can end up with an empty sump and overflowing tank.

I don't know what the flow rate of the new overflow box is. I will probably go by calculatuions: ~45 gallons of water capacity, 10-12X turn-over rate, head distance, then buy a pump that is slightly oversized (in case I erred in calculation) and add a ball valve between the pump and return in case I need to choke the flow a but as to not overwhelm the overlfow box.

CMOS

project,

90 watts is a lot of heat for my rather small 45 gallon tank. I don't think I need something quite that big and to be honest - I feel that just about everything at China Harbor, er, I mean Harbor Freight, is junk.

CMOS :mrgreen: