HELP SOS SOS! Skimmer problem!

Okay guys, I feel like I am having a "Where's your sign" stupid moment big time here. I bought a AquaEuroUSA HOB skimmer. I don't know what I got hooked up wrong, but when I plug it in it, it fills up then overflows all over my floor.

Where is it leaking from? The collection cup? Try raising that as high as it goes. Also, try adjusting the air intake. It can take weeks for a skimmer to settle down and break in.

Can you post pictures of the skimmer?
And does it say what model it is?

Is the water overflowing from the collection cup? or from the return chamber?

Holy crap was I in panic mode! I think I got it all working although obviously by my original post, I am just hoping I do. I am not good with all this fancy equipment and how it works. I get what the end result of it does, but when it comes to making it work or troubleshooting I feel like I am clueless.
It was overflowing from the return chamber and my light fixture was close enough that the cord got a little wet and lights started zapping and crackling. I about crapped my pants! I thought for sure I either killed my light or was gonna die from a zap myself. Everything seems to be working now okay. Note to self, unplug stuff next time.
I raised the collection cup until I got it going then lowered it back down. Also, the air hose wasn't connected into the pump. The pump has a snap on cover and when I took it off the hose was just dangling in there so basically I had no air intake. I wondered why it wasn't bubbling at first, just filling up with water and overflowing.
I don't see a knob to turn to adjust anything and I'm not sure what you mean by gate valve.
Here's what I got AquaEuroUSA Hang On Back Protein Skimmer AEBH100 - AquaEuroUSA