Help with Metal Halides

RAYMOND68

Reefing newb
I am thinking of buying a metal halide. What are the pros and cons? Is there any one company better than the other? I found these on ebay. Does anyone have any opinion?

http://cgi.ebay.com/400-450watt-MET...738896951QQcategoryZ46314QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Item number 7738896951

http://cgi.ebay.com/Metal-Halide-Re...738327311QQcategoryZ46314QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Item number 7738327311

http://cgi.ebay.com/Metal-Halide-Re...738327311QQcategoryZ46314QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Item number 7739001671

Any suggestion would be appreciated
I hope the links work I have never done it before.

Need more info to accurately offer help.

1. Is this for the 44gal tank you have listed in the profile?
2. What is the current livestock in the tank (coral inventory and what you intend on adding)
3. Do you have a glass top on the AQ or are you using a hood that will allow mounting of the retro fit kits?
4. Do you currently have Actinic and Moon / Lunar lighting to supplement the Metal halide lighting?

Chris

Yes, this is for the 44 gal. I currently have 2 - 24'' power compacts with 2 - 65 watt 10,000k and 2 65 watt actinic. I do have some corals (clam, several different kind of zoas and candy coral). I don't what to be limited to the things I could have. I do have a hood. My plan was to take one of the power compacts off and put 2 actinic in one and using the metal halide for the other. My future plans are to have a 125 or 150 gal. tank. I am trying to spend my money wisely for the tank of the future.

First off anyone that advertises with

"we honestly expect you to get 5, 10 even 20 years growth out of the bulb"

That is just plain BS from the start and I would use that as a sign of a shady business relationship to come.